Time Travel

Details Book:
Author by James Gleick
Genre : History
Editor : Vintage
ISBN : 9780804168922
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 354
Download Book

Best Books of 2016 BOSTON GLOBE * THE ATLANTIC From the acclaimed bestselling author of The Information and Chaos comes this enthralling history of time travel—a concept that has preoccupied physicists and storytellers over the course of the last century. James Gleick delivers a mind-bending exploration of time travel—from its origins in literature and science to its influence on our understanding of time itself. Gleick vividly explores physics, technology, philosophy, and art as each relates to time travel and tells the story of the concept's cultural evolutions—from H.G. Wells to Doctor Who, from Proust to Woody Allen. He takes a close look at the porous boundary between science fiction and modern physics, and, finally, delves into what it all means in our own moment in time—the world of the instantaneous, with its all-consuming present and vanishing future.


The Psychology Of Time Travel

Details Book:
Author by Kate Mascarenhas
Genre : Fiction
Editor : Crooked Lane Books
ISBN : 9781683319450
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 336
Download Book

"Astonishing." —The New York Times "A fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person." —HelloGiggles "This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life's great joy: friend groups."—Refinery29 Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut. In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world’s first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project—and future of time travel—in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team—erasing her contributions from history. Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped? Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women’s fiction alike.


Time Travel In Einstein S Universe

Details Book:
Author by J. Richard Gott
Genre : Science
Editor : HMH
ISBN : 9780547526577
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 304
Download Book

A Princeton astrophysicist explores whether journeying to the past or future is scientifically possible in this “intriguing” volume (Neil deGrasse Tyson). It was H. G. Wells who coined the term “time machine”—but the concept of time travel, both forward and backward, has always provoked fascination and yearning. It has mostly been dismissed as an impossibility in the world of physics; yet theories posited by Einstein, and advanced by scientists including Stephen Hawking and Kip Thorne, suggest that the phenomenon could actually occur. Building on these ideas, J. Richard Gott, a professor who has written on the subject for Scientific American, Time, and other publications, describes how travel to the future is not only possible but has already happened—and contemplates whether travel to the past is also conceivable. This look at the surprising facts behind the science fiction of time travel “deserves the attention of anyone wanting wider intellectual horizons” (Booklist). “Impressively clear language. Practical tips for chrononauts on their options for travel and the contingencies to prepare for make everything sound bizarrely plausible. Gott clearly enjoys his subject and his excitement and humor are contagious; this book is a delight to read.” —Publishers Weekly


Time Travel

Details Book:
Author by Nikk Effingham
Genre : Philosophy
Editor : Oxford University Press, USA
ISBN : 9780198842507
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 260
Download Book

There are various arguments for the metaphysical impossibility of time travel. Is it impossible because objects could then be in two places at once? Or is it impossible because some objects could bring about their own existence? In this book, Nikk Effingham contends that no such argument is sound and that time travel is metaphysically possible. His main focus is on the Grandfather Paradox: the position that time travel is impossible because someone could not go back in time and kill their own grandfather before he met their grandmother. In such a case, Effingham argues that the time traveller would have the ability to do the impossible (so they could kill their grandfather) even though those impossibilities will never come about (so they won't kill their grandfather). He then explores the ramifications of this view, discussing issues in probability and decision theory. The book ends by laying out the dangers of time travel and why, even though no time machines currently exist, we should pay extra special care ensuring that nothing, no matter how small or microscopic, ever travels in time.


Time Travel

Details Book:
Author by Corona Brezina
Genre : Young Adult Nonfiction
Editor : The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc
ISBN : 9781508180463
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 66
Download Book

The topic of time travel provides tantalizing conundrums to consider for STEM experts and sci-fi creators alike. Most scientists and mathematicians agree that time travel by humans is probably impossible, yet they have not been able to offer conclusive proof. This book describes how the very nature of time remains a fascinating and complex subject, whether viewed from the perspective of Einstein's relativity or the nanoscale realm of quantum physics. Readers will recognize notable fictional works in literature, film, and television in which time travel serves as a useful plot device as well as a means of examining human history and contemporary social issues.


Time Travel Adventures

Details Book:
Author by Pattimari Sheets-Cacciolfi
Genre : Fiction
Editor : Lulu.com
ISBN : 9780359606290
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 162
Download Book

A brilliant light coming through Peoria's bedroom window startles her to a trembling state - suddenly she is lifted up into a portal and time-travels into the era 1847 England from 2019 America. She can't get anyone to believe her in England until she goes back to 2019 and brings back one of her published books to prove she indeed lives in another era. Her friend, Jetty holds her hand one night and goes with her to England - they get lost in time-travel and struggle to find their way back home.


Time Travel In Popular Media

Details Book:
Author by Matthew Jones
Genre : Social Science
Editor : McFarland
ISBN : 9780786478071
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 337
Download Book

In recent years numerous films, television series, comic books, graphic novels and video games have featured time travel narratives, with characters jumping backward, forward and laterally through time. No rules govern time travel in these stories. Some characters move by machine, some by magic, others by unexplained means. Sometime travelers can alter the timeline, while others are prevented from causing temporal aberrations. The fluid forms of imagined time travel have fascinated audiences and prompted debate since at least the 19th century. What is behind our fascination with time travel? What does it mean to be out of one's own era? How do different media tell these stories and what does this reveal about the media's relationship to time? This collection of new essays--the first to address time travel across a range of media--answers these questions by locating time travel narratives within their cultural, historical and philosophical contexts. Texts discussed include Doctor Who, The Terminator, The Georgian House, Save the Date, Back to the Future, Inception, Source Code and others.


Time Travel

Details Book:
Author by Michael Arruda
Genre : Fiction
Editor : Crossroad Press
ISBN :
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages :
Download Book

When Adam answers his door and finds his deceased grandfather standing there looking as right as rain, he knows something isn't quite right. Is his grandfather back from the dead? The answer is far more complex and involves time travel, cover-ups, and ultimately murder in this time travel adventure tale by Stoker-nominated author Michael Arruda, written with the spirit of classic time travel movies in mind, films like THE TIME MACHINE (1960) and TIME AFTER TIME (1979).


The Science Of Time Travel

Details Book:
Author by Elizabeth Howell
Genre : Science
Editor : Simon and Schuster
ISBN : 9781510749658
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 224
Download Book

Travel back in time with Doctor Who, the Terminator, the X-Men, and all your favorite time travelers! Science fiction is the perfect window into the possibilities and perils of time travel. What would happen if you went back in time and killed your own grandparent? If you knew how to stop a presidential assassination, would time travel allow you to make your wish come true? Can we use time travel as a tool to escape the destiny of our future or mistakes of the past? The Science of Time Travel explores time travel through your favorite science-fiction franchises, from the classic time travel paradoxes of Star Trek to the universe-crossing shenanigans of Doctor Who. Discover the real science behind questions such as: Can time travel really erase our past regrets like in A Christmas Carol? Is it worth killing people in the past to prevent a horrible future like in Terminator? What can we learn from living the same day over and over again like in Groundhog Day? Could time travel destroy our right to privacy like in Deja Vu? And so much more! It's time to fire up the DeLorean to 88 mph, jump into the TARDIS hiding in plain sight, or warp space with the USS Enterprise to explore what time travel means for us.


Theory Of Time Travel

Details Book:
Author by Virginia Loh-Hagan
Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Editor : Cherry Lake
ISBN : 9781534172777
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 32
Download Book

Explore the dark side of space in Out of this World, a new and exciting series for struggling readers. Is time travel possible? How do black holes theoretically support time travel? These and other fascinating questions are discussed in the Theory of Time Travel title using considerate text that is written at a higher maturity level with a lower reading level to engage struggling readers. A table of contents, glossary with simplified pronunciations, and index all enhance reading comprehension. Sidebars include hands-on experiments, spotlight biographies on women in science, tech connections, and far out facts.