Playing Dead

Details Book:
Author by Elizabeth Greenwood
Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : Simon and Schuster
ISBN : 9781476739342
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 272
Download Book

"A darkly comic inquiry into how to fake your own death, the disappearance industry, and the lengths to which people will go to be reborn. Is it still possible to fake your own death in the twenty-first century? With six figures of student loan debt, Elizabeth Greenwood was tempted to find out."--


Playing Dead

Details Book:
Author by Julia Heaberlin
Genre : Fiction
Editor : Ballantine Books
ISBN : 9780345527028
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 352
Download Book

“A compelling family mystery that kept me turning the pages. Highly recommended.”—Margaret Maron, New York Times bestselling author of Three Day Town “Dear Tommie: Have you ever wondered about who you are?” The letter that turns Tommie McCloud’s world upside down arrives from a stranger only days after her father’s death. The woman who wrote it claims that Tommie is her daughter—and that she was kidnapped as a baby thirty-one years ago. Tommie wants to believe it’s all a hoax, but suddenly a girl who grew up on a Texas ranch finds herself linked to a horrific past: the slaughter of a family in Chicago, the murder of an Oklahoma beauty queen, and the kidnapping of a little girl named Adriana. Tommie races along a twisting, nightmarish path while an unseen stalker is determined to keep old secrets locked inside the dementia-battered brain of the woman who Tommie always thought was her real mother. With everything she has ever believed in question, and no one she can trust, Tommie must discover the truth about the girl who vanished—and the very real threats that still remain. “[Julia Heaberlin’s] voice is pitch perfect, and her story of one woman’s fierce struggle to reconcile her past with her present is gripping and powerful. An outstanding debut.”—Carla Buckley, author of Invisible


Playing Dead

Details Book:
Author by Allison Brennan
Genre : Fiction
Editor : Ballantine Books
ISBN : 9780345502735
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 482
Download Book

DEAD MAN RUNNING Sentenced to death for crimes he didn’t commit, ex-cop Tom O’Brien is now a hunted fugitive. After fifteen years in prison, he’s determined to prove his innocence–but first he must convince his daughter, whose testimony helped put him behind bars, that he has damning evidence of a plot to frame him. Claire is no longer the naïve teenager who arrived home to find her mother and her mother’s lover shot dead and her father holding the murder weapon. She’s a successful fraud investigator who assumes everyone lies. Though Claire is convinced of her father’s guilt, curiosity propels her to look into the disappearance of a law student who claimed to have proof of Tom’s innocence. But seeking answers only leads to more questions, reinforcing Claire’s belief that there’s no one left to trust. Obsessed with the O’Brien case, FBI agent Mitch Bianchi befriends Claire under false pretenses, certain that Tom is not only innocent but in grave danger–and not just from the cops. As the three race toward the truth, a murderous conspiracy tightens its noose–and Claire becomes the target of an ice-cold psychopath who will kill to protect his secrets.


Play Dead

Details Book:
Author by Harlan Coben
Genre : Fiction
Editor : Penguin
ISBN : 9780451231741
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 562
Download Book

The worlds of celebrity and sports are brilliantly dissected and turned upside down in the debut thriller from the bestselling author and creator of the hit Netflix drama The Stranger. Theirs was a marriage made in tabloid heaven, but no sooner had supermodel Laura Ayars and Celtics star David Baskin said “I do” than tragedy struck. While honeymooning on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef, David went out for a swim—and never returned. Now widowed and grieving, Laura has a thousand questions and no answers. Her search for the truth will draw her into a web of lies and deception that stretches back thirty years—while on the court at Boston Garden, a rookie phenom makes his spectacular debut...


Playing Dead

Details Book:
Author by Jessie Keane
Genre : Fiction
Editor : HarperCollins UK
ISBN : 9780007332960
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 400
Download Book

Annie Carter is back... She was a madam in a brothel and a gangster’s moll, but now her protection is gone and her enemies are closing in.


Playing Dead

Details Book:
Author by Rudy Wiebe
Genre : Arctic regions
Editor :
ISBN : UVA:X001666943
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 144
Download Book

A collection of essays about the Canadian Arctic, both land and people, by a Canadian writer enamoured of the North.


Playing Dead

Details Book:
Author by Montana Miller
Genre : Social Science
Editor : University Press of Colorado
ISBN : 9781492000464
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 111
Download Book

As the Grim Reaper pulls a student out of class to be a “victim” of drunk driving in a program called “Every 15 Minutes,” Montana Miller observes the ritual through a folklorist’s lens. Playing Dead examines why hundreds of American schools and communities each year organize these mock tragedies without any national sponsorship or coordination. Often, the event is complete with a staged accident in the parking lot, a life-flight helicopter, and faux eulogies for the “dead” students read in school assemblies. Grounding her research in play theory, frame theory, and theory of folk drama, Miller investigates key aspects of this emergent tradition, paying particular attention to its unplanned elements—enabled by the performance’s spontaneous nature and the participants’ tendency to stray from the intended frame. Miller examines such variations in terms of the program as a whole, analyzing its continued popularity and weighing its success as perceived by participants. Her fieldwork reveals a surprising aspect of Every 15 Minutes that typical studies of ritual do not include: It can be fun. Playing Dead is volume two of the series Ritual, Festival, and Celebration, edited by Jack Santino.


Playing Dead

Details Book:
Author by Monique Faison Ross
Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Editor : WildBlue Press
ISBN : 9781948239325
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 284
Download Book

This domestic abuse survivor’s memoir shares an “engaging, powerful, and ultimately shocking story" of a bad marriage that ended in attempted murder (Lundy Bancroft, author of The Joyous Recovery). Monique Faison, the daughter of San Diego Charger’s football great Earl Faison, married her high school sweetheart soon after she discovered she was pregnant with his child. Her relationship with Chris had always been shaky, but his verbal abuse only increased—and then gave way to physical attacks. Eventually, Monique took their children and left. That was when the stalking and serious threats began. Nothing stopped him—not protection injunctions, police warnings, or even arrests. One fateful Monday morning, Chris kidnapped Monique in front of her children. After a nightmarish car ride that involved car crashes and rape, Chris beat her on the head with a shovel and abandoned her brutalized body in the woods, presuming she was dead. But playing dead was what saved her life.


Cherringham Playing Dead

Details Book:
Author by Neil Richards
Genre : Fiction
Editor : BASTEI LÜBBE
ISBN : 9783838748412
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 161
Download Book

When Cherringham Drama Society invite a local TV celebrity to direct their Christmas show, they get more publicity than they bargained for. Someone's out to sabotage the event, and rehearsals spin into chaos. Jack and Sarah are asked to investigate and soon discover that there's a darker mystery taking place behind the scenes ... Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.


Play Dead

Details Book:
Author by francine harris
Genre : Poetry
Editor : Alice James Books
ISBN : 9781938584374
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 100
Download Book

"This book talks smack. This book chews with its open mouth full of the juiciest words, the most indigestible images. This book undoes me. . . . francine j. harris brilliantly ransacks the poet's toolkit, assembling art from buckets of disaster and shreds of hope. Nothing she lays her mind's eye on escapes. You, too, will be captured by her work."—Evie Shockley Lyrically raw and dangerously unapologetic, play dead challenges us to look at our cultivated selves as products of circumstance and attempts to piece together patterns amidst dissociative chaos. harris unearths a ruptured world dictated by violence—a place of deadly what ifs, where survival hangs by a thread. Getting by is carrying bruises and walking around with "half a skull." From "low visibility": I have light in my mouth. I hunger you. You want what comes in drag. a black squirrel in a black tar lane, fresh from exhaust, hot and July's unearthed steam. You want to watch it run over. to study the sog. You want the stink of gristle buried in a muggy weather. I want the faulty mirage. a life of grass. we want the same thing. We want their deaths to break up the sun. francine j. harris is a 2015 NEA Creative Writing Fellow whose first collection, allegiance, was a finalist for the 2013 Kate Tufts Discovery and PEN Open Book Award. Originally from Detroit, she is also Cave Canem fellow who has lived in several cities before returning to Michigan. She received an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Michigan, and currently teaches writing at Interlochen Center for the Arts.