How To Love

Details Book:
Author by Thich Nhat Hanh
Genre : Family & Relationships
Editor : Parallax Press
ISBN : 9781937006891
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 128
Download Book

How to Love is the third title in Parallax’s Mindfulness Essentials Series of how-to titles by Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh, introducing beginners and reminding seasoned practitioners of the essentials of mindfulness practice. This time Nhat Hanh brings his signature clarity, compassion, and humor to the thorny question of how to love. He distills one of our strongest emotions down to four essentials: you can only love another when you feel true love for yourself; love is understanding; understanding brings compassion; deep listening and loving speech are key ways of showing our love. Pocket-sized, with original two color illustrations by Jason DeAntonis, How to Love shows that when we feel closer to our loved ones, we are also more connected to the world as a whole. With sections on Love vs. Need, Being in Love, Reverence, Intimacy, Children and Family, Reconciling with Parents, and more, How to Love includes meditations you can do alone or with your partner to go deep inside and expand your own capacity to love. Scientific studies indicate that meditation contributes tremendously to well-being, general health, and longevity. How to Love is a unique gift for those who want a comprehensive yet simple guide to understanding the many different kinds of love, along with meditative practices that can expand the understanding of and capacity for love, appropriate for those practicing in any spiritual tradition, whether seasoned practitioners or new to meditation.


How To Love

Details Book:
Author by Katie Cotugno
Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Editor : HarperCollins
ISBN : 9780062394798
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 416
Download Book

For fans of Sarah Dessen and John Green, this is a breathtaking debut about a couple who fall in love...twice. Before: Reena Montero has loved Sawyer LeGrande for as long as she can remember. But he's never noticed that Reena even exists...until one day, impossibly, he does. Reena and Sawyer fall in messy, complicated love. Then Sawyer disappears without a word, leaving a devastated—and pregnant—Reena behind. After: Almost three years have passed, and there's a new love in Reena's life: her daughter. Reena's gotten used to life without Sawyer, but just as suddenly as he disappeared, he turns up again. Reena wants nothing to do with him, though she'd be lying if she said his being back wasn't stirring something in her. After everything that's happened, can Reena really let herself love Sawyer LeGrande again?


All About Love

Details Book:
Author by bell hooks
Genre : Family & Relationships
Editor : HarperCollins
ISBN : 9780062862174
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 272
Download Book

A New York Times bestseller and enduring classic, All About Love is the acclaimed first volume in feminist icon bell hooks' "Love Song to the Nation" trilogy. All About Love reveals what causes a polarized society, and how to heal the divisions that cause suffering. Here is the truth about love, and inspiration to help us instill caring, compassion, and strength in our homes, schools, and workplaces. “The word ‘love’ is most often defined as a noun, yet we would all love better if we used it as a verb,” writes bell hooks as she comes out fighting and on fire in All About Love. Here, at her most provocative and intensely personal, renowned scholar, cultural critic and feminist bell hooks offers a proactive new ethic for a society bereft with lovelessness--not the lack of romance, but the lack of care, compassion, and unity. People are divided, she declares, by society’s failure to provide a model for learning to love. As bell hooks uses her incisive mind to explore the question “What is love?” her answers strike at both the mind and heart. Razing the cultural paradigm that the ideal love is infused with sex and desire, she provides a new path to love that is sacred, redemptive, and healing for individuals and for a nation. The Utne Reader declared bell hooks one of the “100 Visionaries Who Can Change Your Life.” All About Love is a powerful, timely affirmation of just how profoundly her revelations can change hearts and minds for the better.


The Way To Love

Details Book:
Author by Anthony De Mello
Genre : Body, Mind & Spirit
Editor : Image
ISBN : 9780385249393
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 210
Download Book

From the international bestselling author of Awareness, a pocket-sized guide that will bring you to new levels of spiritual awareness. The Way To Love contains the final flowering of Anthony de Mello's thought, and in it he grapples with the ultimate question of love. In thirty-one meditations, he implores his readers with his usual pithiness to break through illusion, the great obstacle to love. "Love springs from awareness," de Mello insists, saying that it is only when we see others as they are that we can begin to really love. But not only must we seek to see others with clarity, we must examine ourselves without misconception. The task, however, is not easy. "The most painful act," de Mello says, "is the act of seeing. But in that act of seeing that love is born." Anthony De Mello was the director of the Sadhana Institute of Pastoral Counseling in Poona, India, and authored several books. The Way To Love is his last.


How To Love

Details Book:
Author by Gordon Livingston
Genre : Compassion
Editor : ReadHowYouWant.com
ISBN : 9781459617292
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 230
Download Book

Large print.


The Five Love Languages

Details Book:
Author by Garry Chapman
Genre : Communication in marriage
Editor : Northfield Press
ISBN : 8186775099
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 0
Download Book

Explores the all-important languages of love, helping each partner discover which actions are interpreted by the other as loving and affirming, and which as indifferent and demeaning. With study guide.


Wired For Love

Details Book:
Author by Stan Tatkin
Genre : Family & Relationships
Editor : New Harbinger Publications
ISBN : 9781608820597
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 200
Download Book

"What the heck is my partner thinking?" is a common refrain in romantic relationships, and with good reason. Every person is wired for love differently, with different habits, needs, and reactions to conflict. The good news is that most people's minds work in predictable ways and respond well to security, attachment, and rituals, making it possible to actually neurologically prime the brain for greater love and fewer conflicts. Wired for Love is a complete insider's guide to understanding a partner's brain and promoting love and trust within a romantic relationship. Readers learn ten scientific principles they can use to avoid triggering fear and panic in their partners, manage their partners' emotional reactions when they do become upset, and recognize when the brain's threat response is hindering their ability to act in a loving way. By learning to use simple gestures and words, readers can learn to put out emotional fires and help their partners feel more safe and secure. The no-fault view of conflict in this book encourages readers to move past a ""warring brain"" mentality and toward a more cooperative ""loving brain"" understanding of the relationship. Based in the sound science of neurobiology, attachment theory, and emotion regulation research, this book is essential reading for couples and others interested in understanding the complex dynamics at work behind love and trust in intimate relationships.


Black Women And Popular Culture

Details Book:
Author by Adria Y. Goldman
Genre : Social Science
Editor : Lexington Books
ISBN : 9780739192290
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 334
Download Book

With the emergence of popular culture phenomena such as reality television, blogging, and social networking sites, it is important to examine the representation of Black women and the potential implications of those images, messages, and roles. Black Women and Popular Culture: The Conversation Continues provides such a comprehensive analysis. Using an array of theoretical frameworks and methodologies, this collection features cutting edge research from scholars interested in the relationship among media, society, perceptions, and Black women. The uniqueness of this book is that it serves as a compilation of “hot topics” including ABC’s Scandal, Beyoncé’s Visual Album, and Oprah’s Instagram page. Other themes have roots in reality television, film, and hip hop, as well as issues of gender politics, domestic violence, and colorism. The discussion also extends to the presentation and inclusion of Black women in advertising, print, and digital media.


How To Love A Black Man

Details Book:
Author by Ronn Elmore
Genre : Social Science
Editor : Grand Central Publishing
ISBN : 9780759520875
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 192
Download Book

As he sheds light on the hidden emotional psychological recesses of the black man's inner world, Dr. Elmore provides down-to-earth advice and real-life anecdotes drawn from his seminars and radio call-in shows to show women how to create the fulfilling relationship each partner wants and deserves.


How To Fall In Love With Anyone

Details Book:
Author by Mandy Len Catron
Genre : Family & Relationships
Editor : Nero
ISBN : 9781743820094
Type Books : PDF & Epub
File Pages : 229
Download Book

In 2014, 33-year- old Mandy Len Catron went on a date with an acquaintance. They decided to try an experiment: inspired by a study designed to create romantic feelings, Mandy and Mark spent the evening asking each other 36 increasingly intimate questions, wondering if it would lead to them falling in love. In How to Fall in Love with Anyone, this experiment is Catron’s starting point for investigating what it means to love someone and to be loved, and how we present our love to the world. What makes love last? Can love ever work the way it seems to in films, books and social media? Is there a “right” way to fall in love? In these candid, charming and wise essays, Catron blends memoir with cultural and social commentary on the psychology, biology, history and literature of love. How to Fall in Love with Anyone is a deeply personal, yet universal investigation into the one thing we all want—or think we want—more than anything. Includes “To Fall in Love with Anyone, Do This”, one of the most popular essays to appear in the New York Times’ “Modern Love” column “In our age of total romantic confusion, Mandy Len Catron is a voice of good sense, warm humor, and consoling wisdom. Through the lens of her own relationships, she teaches us—with a deft, convincing intelligence—some of the vital moves in the art of love.” —Alain de Botton, internationally bestselling author of How Proust Can Change Your Life and The Course of Love MANDY LEN CATRON lives in Vancouver, British Columbia. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times and the Washington Post. She writes about love and love stories at The Love Story Project, and teaches English and creative writing at the University of British Columbia.